the best tomato basil soup

Some foods are better left unphotographed, especially under the fluorescent lighting of my apartment. Unfortunately for me, those seem to be some of the foods I’ve made most recently: peanut sauce, chocolate mousse, apple sauce, and tomato soup. But the tomato soup was just so incredible that I had to share it, even if I included a picture that wasn’t my own. (Rebekah, my roommate, had never tried tomato soup before because she is only just now learning to appreciate tomatoes, but she loved it and requested that I make it more often.) So, presenting, the most delicious homemade tomato basil soup you’ll ever have….

From Jenny Steffens Hobick: The Best Tomato Basil Soup

Tomato Basil Soup:
(from here)

  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 – 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 – 14 oz. can whole tomatoes
  • 2 cups of vegetable stock (or chicken stock)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 3 Tbs fresh basil, julienned (or 3 tsp dried basil)
In a saucepan, saute garlic in olive oil on medium heat for one minute, then add the crushed tomatoes. Add the whole tomatoes one at a time, squeezing them into the pan to break them up, and add the juice, too. (A word of warning: I ended up splattering tomato juice all over my white walls because I didn’t think about the implications of squeezing a whole tomato. Be careful!) Add vegetable stock, salt, pepper and sugar. Cook the soup on medium at a simmer for 10 minutes. To finish, reduce the heat to low and stir in heavy cream and basil.  Best served with a grilled cheese sandwich. (We made paninis on our George Foreman grill with Italian bread and provolone cheese.)
Leave a Reply

