scones

Last night after I got out of Media Ecology, I had some extra time and wanted to try a new recipe, but I was determined to avoid using my computer, so instead of checking out one of my favorite recipe sites for inspiration, I turned to this magnificent cook book, a gift from my boyfriend. After browsing for a few minutes, I found a recipe for scones that looked scrumptious and (equally importantly) only required ingredients that I already had, so I gave it a try. Oh my goodness – they were SO delicious! Although scone dough can be challenging to work with, the recipe is straightforward and the results are absolutely worth it.

This scone looks a bit like a stingray, but I promise it's delicious!

Scones:
(makes eight)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons cold butter, cut into 12 slices
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup raisins (or other dried fruit), soaked in water to cover for 30 minutes, drained, and patted dry
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In a bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Put the cold butter slices on top of the flour mixture, and then use a pastry blender to cut through the mixture until the butter is about the size of peas. Add the milk and combine until there is no loose flour at the bottom of the bowl. (If there is, you can add just a little bit more milk.) Fold in the raisins, and be careful not to overwork the dough.

Dump the dough out onto a work surface (I put the dough on a floured pastry cloth that I keep in my refrigerator) and roll it into a thick rope with your hands (it will be like a shaggy mass). Flatten it a little bit and use a bench knife to cut it into eight triangles. (Does this sound too vague? Just make them scone-sized! They’re like sweet, triangular biscuits.)

Transfer the scones onto an ungreased baking sheet, about an inch apart.

I put my scones in the freezer for about ten minutes before I bake them (it helps make them nice and flaky). When you’re ready to bake them, put them in the oven and turn it down to 350 degrees. (You preheat it to 375 because you lose about 25 degrees every time you open the oven door.) Bake for 30 minutes, or until golden brown.
1 comment

Leave a Reply

